Austin Child Abuse Lawyer
To protect yourself against the penalties of a child abuse conviction, you need an experienced Travis County criminal defense attorney.
If you have been accused of child abuse in Texas, you need to take the charge very seriously. The Federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act defines child abuse and neglect as either of the following:
● Any act or failure to act that presents an imminent risk of serious harm; or
● Any recent act or failure to act by a parent or caretaker that results in serious physical or emotional harm, exploitation or sexual abuse, or death.
Consequences of a Child Abuse Conviction
The consequences of being convicted of child abuse or neglect can be severe. It is common for crimes against children to carry stiff penalties at sentencing. It is important you retain a reputable and skilled Austin criminal defense lawyer who can prepare the best defense possible.
You could be facing jail time, probation, loss or limitation of child visitation, loss of gun privileges, mandatory counseling, etc. In the event the child abuse involves injuries or weapons, it can be considered a felony in Texas, which means you could be facing a lengthy prison sentence if convicted.
This is why you should not attempt to resolve the matter on your own. Attempts to make contact with the victim could make the matter worse.
Penalties for a Child Abuse Conviction in Texas
The penalties for a child abuse conviction will vary depending on the injury type. Penalties can include:
● State Jail Felony: You can be sentenced between 180 days and up to two years, plus a fine as much as $10,000.
● Third Degree Felony: You can spend two to 10 years in prison and need to pay a fine of up to $10,000.
● Second Degree Felony: You can be punished by two to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
● First Degree Felony: A first degree felony for child abuse is punishable by five to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
What are the Signs of Child Abuse?
If you are wondering why someone might be accusing you of child abuse, there is a law in Texas that someone can be charged with a misdemeanor for failing to report suspected abuse. Certain people, like doctors, nurses, teachers, or daycare workers are required to make a verbal report to law enforcement or the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services within 48 hours of the suspected abuse.
There are a number of things professionals look for before reporting suspected incidents of child abuse. These can include:
● Unusual injury for a child’s specific age
● Unexplained death
● Frequency of wounds
● No reasonable explanation of the injury
● Head injuries
● Unexplained burns
Contact a Travis County Criminal Defense Lawyer
Because a conviction for child abuse can have life-changing consequences, it is important to retain a skilled Travis County criminal defense attorney who has experience defending child abuse cases. At Granger and Mueller PC, we have been defending Travis County residents for over 25 years. We understand what a difficult situation this can be and the serious penalties that come with a conviction for child abuse in Texas. Contact us at 512-474-9999 to schedule an initial consultation.