Texas takes violent offenses seriously and aggressively pursues criminal offenses like manslaughter. Being convicted of a crime like manslaughter can change your life forever. It can result in prison time, destroy your future employment opportunities, cause you to be denied for loans and housing rentals, and even lose custody of your children. This is why it is imperative for you to contact an experienced Austin manslaughter attorney right away.
What is Considered Manslaughter in Texas?
Manslaughter is when someone’s actions are beyond criminal negligence and are reckless, and those actions result is someone’s death. In other words, it is the act of recklessly causing another person’s death. These are often accidents like vehicle collisions, accidental firearm discharge, or a fistfight that went too far. Unlike some other states, Texas does not differentiate between voluntary and involuntary manslaughter. This can make a charge for manslaughter somewhat subjective. The Texas prosecutor does not need to prove this was premeditated, you had intent, or knowledge in order for you to be convicted.
Types of Manslaughter in Texas
You could be charged with vehicular manslaughter if you cause someone’s death while recklessly operating a vehicle or while driving a boat. With the amount of traffic on Austin roads, it is no surprise that auto collisions are common. Sometimes these accidents result in a fatality. There is no specific statute in regard to vehicular manslaughter, but you could be charged if you violated a traffic law, like racing down the road or driving with a suspended license.
One of the other common types of manslaughter is intoxication manslaughter. If you act in a reckless manner while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, then you could be charged with manslaughter. Cases involving DWIs attract a lot of attention, so you can bet the prosecutor will aggressively pursue them until conviction. If you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you will also be facing a separate DWI charge.
Texas classifies manslaughter as a second-degree felony. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the case, you could receive anywhere between two and 20 years in a Texas state prison. There is also an associated fine with a maximum amount of $10,000. If the prosecutor thinks there is a chance that he or she will not get a conviction for manslaughter, the prosecutor may try you for criminally negligent homicide, which is also a felony, punishable by jail time of up to two years and a $10,000 fine.
Travis County Criminal Defense Attorneys for Nearly 30 Years
If you find yourself facing criminal charges in Texas, you need to understand what you are up against. The attorneys at Granger and Mueller PC will tell you the truth and not keep the reality of what you are facing a secret. It is not meant to scare you, but we will not give you false hope, either. When our attorney meets with you the first time, we will provide an evaluation that includes the charges you are facing and what you need to do next.
Do not rely on a court appointed public defender if you are facing manslaughter charges in Texas. Contact Granger and Mueller PC today to schedule a consultation. With nearly 30 years of experience, let us prepare the best defense possible.