Our Austin DUI defense attorneys explain what you need to know about blood alcohol content (BAC) limits in Texas and the consequences you could face for drinking and driving.
Driving under the influence (DUI) in Austin is a serious matter that could result in potentially major penalties. At Granger and Mueller, P.C., our Austin DUI defense attorneys have over 25 years experience successfully defending clients in these cases. Find out more about legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limits in Texas and the consequences you could face if convicted of a DUI.
When Can I be Charged With a DUI?
When you drink alcoholic beverages, the alcohol is absorbed into your bloodstream. Your blood alcohol content (BAC) can be measured via a breathalyzer or via blood samples. Under the Texas Penal Code, you are considered legally intoxicated if your BAC level is .08 or higher, which generally represents having four or five drinks over the course of an hour. However, you can also be considered legally intoxicated if you do not have normal use of your mental or physical faculties as a result of drinking alcohol or taking any type of drugs or controlled substance. Common signs of intoxication, which could result in DUI charges in Austin, include:
- Slurred speech;
- Slowed reflexes;
- Problems walking or maintaining your balance;
- Difficulty concentrating, forming thoughts, or understanding what is being said.
The Consequences for Drinking and Driving in Texas
According to the Texas Department of Transportation (TXDOT), close to 1,300 DUI-related car accidents in Travis County happen each year. On average, these claim the lives of at least two people each month while leaving dozens of other drivers and passengers suffering serious personal injuries. Due to the potential dangers, law enforcement officials and prosecutors take a tough stance against drunk driving in Texas. Consequences you could face due to drinking and driving charges in Austin include:
- For a first DUI offense: Up to a $2,000 fine, as long as 180 days in jail, and loss of your driver’s license for up to a year;
- For a second DUI offense: Up to a $4,000 fine, as long as a year in jail, and loss of driving license for up to two years;
- For a third or subsequent DUI offense: Fines up to $10,000, between two and 10 years in prison, and loss of driving privileges for two years or longer.
It is important to be aware that you could face these consequences if you are over the legal BAC limit or if you are within the limit but show other signs of impairment.
Speak With Our Austin DUI Defense Attorney Today
To protect yourself against the serious consequences of a DUI in Austin, speak with a member of our legal team at Granger and Mueller, P.C. right away. We provide the trusted legal guidance and professional representation you need to protect yourself against criminal penalties. Call or contact our Austin DUI defense attorney online to request a consultation today.