Granger and Mueller PC
we can help Call us 24/7
512-474-9999
Our Practice Areas

New Texas law changes DWI consequences

You are driving home for the evening and see flashing lights in your rear view mirror. You feel a sinking feeling in your stomach. Have you had one too many drinks? Could you face a DWI charge?

If you are like many people pulled over for DWI, you are generally law-abiding. You may be wondering: What happens next? Could I lose my license? Am I going to jail? How much is this all going to cost me?

You are right to ask those questions. There are a variety of consequences for DWI offenses depending on your BAC (blood alcohol content), the number of previous offenses you have had, and other factors like having a child present in the vehicle.

DWI laws also change. A recent law change went into effect in Texas on September 1st 2015. This law actually gives first-time DWI offenders a new option for retaining their driving privileges.

Now if a driver's BAC was less than .15 percent (the legal limit is .08) he or she can opt for having an ignition interlock system installed in his or her vehicle which allows the individual to continue to drive. Previously drivers in this situation would be subject to a license suspension, although judges could make exceptions.

An ignition interlock device prevents drivers from starting their vehicles if there is any traceable alcohol detected in their breath. There are also rolling retests where the driver has six minutes to pull off the road and retest.

Besides driving restrictions, here is a breakdown of some of the consequences you may face if convicted of DWI in Texas:

First offense/Class B misdemeanor

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to $2,000 fine

Second offense/Class A misdemeanor

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to $4,000 fine

Felony DWI

You may be charged with a felony DWI for different reasons. You may have had two prior convictions or be charged with DWI with a child under the age of 14 in the vehicle. In both of these cases, you will face a fine up to $10,000. For DWI with a child passenger you face up to two years in jail, and for a third offense you will face up to 10 years in prison.

What options do I have?

With the potential for such severe consequences, it is important to contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer if you are facing DWI charges. A lawyer can advise you of your options and advocate on your behalf.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
  • I would recommend the Granger and Mueller PC. firm to my friends, family or anyone in need of criminal legal representation or advice. They have a long history of success and know how to work with the system...
  • Retained Aaron to handle my sons Possession of Marijuana charges during his senior year in high school. He was caught with 2 pot-brownies at his high school and was charged with POM in Drug Free Zone...
  • Without any hesitation, I would recommend Aaron Mueller. He is very diligent and courteous and guides you through every step-helping you understand the legal process and legal speak...
Read More Testimonials

You Have A Problem. We Can Help Solve It. For over 40 years, our criminal defense law firm has achieved favorable results for clients charged with crimes in Travis County. Fill out the form today to contact our team.

Email Us Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Don't Lose Hope. Find Out How We Can Help. Call 512-474-9999.

Granger and Mueller PC
605 West 10th Street
Austin, TX 78701

Phone: 512-474-9999
Fax: 512-474-5353
Austin Law Office Map

VISA | Master Card | American Express | DISCOVER NETWORK | PayPal
Travis County Justice Center